What is Anahata chakra and how to balance it?

Most people know about the chakras, there are seven energy wheels that run from the crown of your head to the base of your spine. Each chakra permits energy to circulate freely throughout the body when it is spinning properly. Stress, worry, or emotional upheaval can clog these energy wheels, causing your health to suffer. The fourth chakra, known as Anahata, is placed in the centre of the body. If it gets clogged or obstructed, it may be difficult to form and maintain good connections.

What is known as a Chakra?

Have you ever wondered where the spirit joins the body? The chakras, according to Hindu and Buddhist beliefs, bring the physical and spiritual worlds together. Three lower body chakras and three higher body chakras connect along the spine, creating a spinning wheel of energy. The heart chakra, or Anahata in Sanskrit, is placed in the middle of the chest and connects them all.

Anahata, which means unhurt in Sanskrit, is in charge of the body’s loving energy. The heart chakra reacts to the heart, lungs, immune system, and upper body muscles on a physical level. The heart chakra, when opened, fills you with love, forgiveness, and compassion on a spiritual level.

Anahata (Anahata Chakra) means unharmed, unstruck, and undefeated in Sanskrit. It is the fourth main chakra and is the seat of self-love, compassion, empathy, and forgiveness. The colour green is connected with the Anahata chakra, and it signifies change and loving energy. When ancient rishis concentrated on the energy of the chakras, precise colours and symbols appeared. This chakra also aids in directing love back to yourself, allowing you to love and accept yourself and your body genuinely.

Anahata Chakra's Characteristics

The life-giving element of air

Air, or Vayu, is the element of the Anahata Chakra, or Heart Chakra. The element of air represents the ability to expand and broaden one’s horizons. A heart that is limitless in its willingness to offer. Vayu is physiologically linked to the sensation of touch as well as emotional sentiments. When one’s heart is open, one feels cheerful, sociable, and inspired to believe in oneself. When the Heart Chakra is balanced, everyone become more empathetic and understanding towards others, making it easier to form satisfying relationships.

Green is a revitalising colour


The Anahata Chakra’s green colour signifies development and the rebirth of good connections. Green is a colour that represents nature, freshness, and compassion. For the human eye, it is a soothing and relaxing colour. The colour green connotes steadiness and endurance. Heart Chakra’s themes include serenity, tranquillity, equilibrium, and compassion for yourself and others.

Signs of a Blocked Heart Chakra

You  might feel lonely, alone, and unable to connect if the energy flow in the Heart Chakra is disrupted. This is because worry arises when we are injured and feel stuck in the past. Any connection may be frightening to share and trust. Any of the symptoms listed below suggests that the Heart Chakra needs to be rebalanced and healed. Physical illnesses or sickness might be symptoms of obstructed energy. The heart, lungs, chest, arms, and hands are all affected by the heart chakra. Poor circulation, high or low blood pressure and other heart and lung problems can occur when the spine is misaligned. Infections of the lungs, bronchitis and circulation issues are just a few of the diseases that can arise in the body.

  • Fear of being rejected
  • In a committed relationship, there is a loss of trust.
  • In a partnership, there is too much reliance.
  • When it comes to individuals who care about you, you have a distant demeanour.
  • While feeling vulnerable, maintain a tough and emotionless demeanour.

When the imbalance occurs?

The fourth chakra, commonly known as the heart chakra, is where unconditional love resides. It can also be linked to fear and even hatred when out of balance. You will feel open, loved, and loving when this chakra is connected and feeling excellent, and unconditional love will flow effortlessly through you.

You may feel afraid, fearful, wounded, or even resentful if the energy in this chakra is out of balance. Because fear is frequently described as the polar opposite of love, an imbalance might emerge as a tight, frightened feeling in your chest. Alternatively, if you have been seriously injured, the love you previously had might transform into hatred.

Opening the Heart Chakra

Burn Anahata Incense and Essential Oils

Aromatherapy aids in the healing of the Anahata chakra and the awakening of the ability to love. Burn rose, lavender, sandalwood, orange, and jasmine-scented essential oils, candles, or incense to open the heart chakra.

To open the heart, practise yoga poses.

Yoga postures that expand the heart might also assist in awakening the Anahata chakra. Poses like upward facing dog, camel, and bridges expand the heart and drive the chest toward the sky.

With the vibrational love energy, use healing stones

The heart chakra vibrates in the colours green and pink, and each chakra has its unique frequency and colour. Carrying healing stones about can assist tune into the frequency of the heart chakra since they have their own energy frequencies. 

Anahata Chakra

To shift energy toward love, recite mantras

Mantras are sacred sounds, words, or phrases that, like prayers, assist to focus concentration. The heart chakra may be balanced by repeating mantras linked with love. To link your energy with love, take a deep breath and recite the compassion mantra. 


To open the heart, practise Meditation.


Meditation has been a proven technique for meditation for many centuries. Meditation has many benefits, both short-term as well as long-term. Meditation has become more common in recent years. People spend more time meditating, following their breath, and learning to be present in the moment. Meditation groups are appearing all over the place – in schools and senior centers as well as in communities.

Wrapping it up

The energy that emerges in the Heart Chakra has a significant influence on your personality. When your Heart Chakra is balanced, you may live a meaningful and balanced existence. Maintaining a healthy Heart Chakra promotes self-awareness, which aids in the development of good interpersonal relationships.


Join our Mailing list!

Get all latest news, exclusive deals and academy updates.